Education Help with Education Professional Development Short Courses Short Course Materials 2019 2018 2017 2016 Faculty - AGU: Hooking undergraduates into geophysics data - GETSI Faculty: Geodesy data teaching modules - GETSI Faculty - GSA: SfM for undergrad Faculty: TLS & SfM - Undergraduate field teaching Imaging: GSA - Laser scanning - Intro for research & education Imaging: Laser scanning - Active faults Imaging: Laser scanning - ALS and MLS tools Imaging: Laser scanning - So-Cal faults InSAR: COMET InSAR: GMTSAR InSAR: ISCE, GIAnT, & StaMPS Strainmeter: Working with data Teacher (Grades 6 - 12) Development Courses 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005
Imaging and Analyzing Southern California's Active Faults with High Resolution Topography

Dates: January 25 - 26, 2016
Location: Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona

Supported by Southern California Earthquake Center, OpenTopography, UNAVCO, and EarthScope
A Joint SCEC, OpenTopography, UNAVCO and EarthScope short course

Course information, presentations, and materials

High resolution topographic data has become an important tool for earthquake scientists to make detailed observations and model surface evolution. Within the last decade, several efforts have been made to collect high resolution topographic (HRT) data for active faults (e.g. The B4 project, EarthScope, and numerous NCALM and USGS projects). These datasets are freely available online through OpenTopography, a NSF funded data distribution portal. The active faulting community has taken great interest in these exciting datasets, using them to generate new and important insights into earthquake processes in Southern California. OpenTopography in partnership with the Southern California Earthquake Center, UNAVCO, and EarthScope will host a short course at Arizona State University on January 25-26, 2016. This 2-day course will highlight recent research results and provide beginner to intermediate training on airborne and terrestrial lidar, and Structure from Motion technology, point cloud and raster-based data processing, and active fault-oriented analysis. We will emphasize fault trace and geomorphic mapping, topographic differencing, integration with other geospatial data, and data visualization and analysis approaches. Participants will have opportunities to discuss their research with other participants and the instructors.

J. Ramon Arrowsmith, Arizona State University; Christopher Crosby, UNAVCO; Alana Williams, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ; Jessica Sutton, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

Ramón Arrowsmith, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ; Christopher Crosby, UNAVCO, Boulder, CO; Edwin Nissen, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO

Last modified: Wednesday, 02-Jan-2019 20:00:07 UTC


Sponsored by:

National Science Foundation Logo National Aeronautics and Space Administration Logo