photos of board members

UNAVCO, as a university-governed consortium, elected new members to the Board of Directors and Nominating Committee. New members serve 3-year terms beginning January 2021. Board Directors are responsible for managing the business and affairs of UNAVCO, Inc.

President Becks Bendick thanks everyone involved:

I’m so grateful to all of the members of our community who stepped forward to run for governance positions. Their commitment and the high level of engagement of geodesists in our elections and community events this fall remind me of how special community-led science can be, and how much we gain by working together toward shared goals. I’m similarly appreciative of the contributions of our outgoing Board Directors—Lucy Flesch, Ed Nissen, James Foster, and Emma Hill. Without their leadership, the future prospects of shared geophysics resources might be very different. Finally, a big welcome to the incoming 2021 Board and Nominating Committee; I’m excited and humbled to work with such amazing and visionary scientists.

Adrian Borsa, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, was reelected to the Board and is joined by new members: Roland Bürgmann (University of California, Berkeley), Gareth Funning (University of California, Riverside), Bridget Smith-Konter (University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa), and Leigh Stearns (University of Kansas).

Continuing Board Directors include: Ronni Grapenthin (University of Alaska, Fairbanks), Tonie Van Dam (University of Utah), Laura Wallace (University of Texas Institute of Geophysics and GNS Science, New Zealand), and Terry Wilson (The Ohio State University).

The Nominating Committee is charged with identifying the Board Director nominees and slate of candidates for the annual election. Newly elected members Eileen Evans (California State University, Northridge) and Willam Hammond (University of Nevada, Reno) join continuing members Julie Elliott (Purdue University) and Rowena Lohman (Cornell University).

Written by:

  • Donna Charlevoix
  • Posted: 21 December 2021
  • Last updated: 21 December 2021
  • Tags: