UNAVCO Logo
 
 
Community Help with Community Connections Governance Bylaws Board of Directors Committees

Committees


The UNAVCO bylaws provide for standing and advisory committees of the board and the members, as well as committees that are advisory to the president. The Board of Directors, Members or President may also establish advisory or other committees. Current UNAVCO advisory committees report to the board.

Standing Committees

Advisory Committees to the Board


Audit and Finance Committee

The Audit and Finance Committee, established in the bylaws, shall be responsible for overseeing corporate financial management functions, including investment and debt policies and transactions, recommending to the Board of Directors changes in financial management policy, and nominating to the Board of Directors the public accounting firm to be engaged to carry out the annual audit of the corporate financial position. Members serve three year terms and are eligible for reappointment.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Adrian Borsa, Treasurer Scripps Institution of Oceanography aborsa@ucsd.edu Dec 2020
Jon Rush University of Colorado, Boulder jon.rush@colorado.edu Dec 2020
Dan Wilson University of Colorado dan.j.wilson@cu.edu Dec 2021

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee, established in the bylaws, is a committee appointed by the Members at the annual meeting to make nominations for the election of Directors and to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors. Members serve two year terms and are eligible for reappointment.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Julie Elliott Purdue University julieelliott@purdue.edu Dec 2021
Rowena Lohman Cornell University rbl62@cornell.edu Dec 2021
Diego Melgar University of Oregon dmelgarm@uoregon.edu Dec 2020
Jessica Murray** USGS jrmurray@usgs.gov Dec 2020
**Non-Voting Observers

Membership Committee

Membership Committee, established by action of the board, reviews applications for institutional membership using criteria established in the bylaws and recommends action to the board. Members serve two year terms and are eligible for reappointment.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Patricia Mothes Instituto Geofisico, Escuela Politecnica Nacional pmothes@igepn.edu.ec Dec 2021
Cindy Ebinger Tulane University cebinger@tulane.edu Dec 2022
Matt Wei University of Rhode Island matt-wei@uri.edu Dec 2022

Education and Community Engagement Advisory Committee (ECE AC)

The Education and Community Engagement Advisory Committee (ECE AC) is appointed by and reports to the UNAVCO board of Directors, and provides recommendations (1) to the board, on issues of governance, policy, oversight, resource allocation, or strategic direction and (2) to UNAVCO management, on issues pertaining to ECE management. Recommendations to management are conveyed to the board as needed by the board liaison, in reports, and through distribution of the minutes. The ECE AC reviews the policies and effectiveness of the program in meeting commitments to its user community and in achieving the goals set forth in the UNAVCO Strategic Plan. The ECE AC interacts closely with the program director and the president. Each member serves a three-year term, typically to a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Heather Macdonald, Chair William & Mary rhmacd@wm.edu Dec 2022
Nicolas Barth University of California, Riverside nic.barth@ucr.edu Dec 2022
Sarah Conway U.S. Geologic Survey, Hawaii Volcano Observatory sarahcmoore34@gmail.com Dec 2020
Eileen Evans California State University, Northridge eileen.evans@csun.edu Dec 2021
Noah Faye Pima Community College npfay@pima.edu Dec 2021
Kevin Mahan University of Colorado Kevin.mahan@colorado.edu Dec 2021
Franz Meyer University of Alaska Fairbanks fjmeyer@alaska.edu Dec 2022
Tonie Van Dam (Board Liaison) University of Luxembourg tonie.vandam@uni.lu Dec 2020
John Taber (Ex-Officio)** IRIS Education and Outreach taber@iris.edu N/A
**Non-Voting Observers

Geodetic Data Services Advisory Committee (GDS AC)

The Geodetic Data Services Advisory Committee (GDS AC) is appointed by and reports to the UNAVCO Board of Directors, and provides recommendations (1) to the board, on issues of governance, policy, oversight, resource allocation, or strategic direction and (2) to UNAVCO management, on issues pertaining to GDS management. Recommendations to management are conveyed to the board as needed by the board liaison, in reports, and through distribution of the minutes. The GDS AC reviews the policies and effectiveness of the program in meeting commitments to its user community and in achieving the goals set forth in the UNAVCO Strategic Plan. The GDS AC interacts closely with the program director and the president. Each member serves a three-year term, typically to a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Julie Elliott, Chair Purdue University julieelliott@purdue.edu Dec 2022
Enrique Cabral-Cano Universidad Nacional Automona de Mexico ecabralgeofisica@gmail.com Dec 2021
Jerry Carter** IRIS Jerry@iris.washington.edu N/A
Jamie Farrell University of Utah jamie.farrell@utah.edu
Dec 2022
Mike Floyd MIT mfloyd@mit.edu Dec 2020
Ronni Grapenthin, Board Liaison University of Alaska, Fairbanks rgrapenthin@alaska.edu Dec 2020
Hook Hua Jet Propulsion Laboratory hook.hua@jpl.nasa.gov Dec 2021
Angie Moore Jet Propulsion Laboratory angelyn.w.moore@jpl.nasa.gov Dec 2021
Kristy Tiampo,
Liaison from WInSAR EC
University of Colorado, Boulder kristy.tiampo@colorado.edu Dec 2020
Shimon Wdowinski Florida International University swdowins@fiu.edu Dec 2020
**Non-Voting Observers

Geodetic Infrastructure Advisory Committee (GI AC)

The Geodetic Infrastructure Advisory Committee (GI AC) is appointed by and reports to the UNAVCO Board of Directors, and provides recommendations (1) to the board, on issues of governance, policy, oversight, resource allocation, or strategic direction and (2) to UNAVCO management, on issues pertaining to GI management. Recommendations to management are conveyed to the board as needed by the board liaison, in reports, and through distribution of the minutes. The GI AC reviews the policies and effectiveness of the program in meeting commitments to its user community and in achieving the goals set forth in the UNAVCO Strategic Plan. The GI AC interacts closely with the program director and the president. Each member serves a three-year term, typically to a maximum of two consecutive terms.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Elisabetta D'Anastasio, Joint Chair GNS Science e.danastasio@gns.cri.nz Dec 2022
Diego Melgar, Joint Chair University of Oregon dmelgarm@uoregon.edu Dec 2022
Noel Bartlow University of Kansas nbartlow@ku.edu Dec 2021
Ben Brooks** USGS bbrooks@usgs.gov Dec 2021
Seebany Datta-Barua Illinois Institute of Technology sdattaba@iit.edu Dec 2022
James Foster, Board Liaison Univerity of Stuttgart, Germany james.foster@gis.uni-stuttgart.de Dec 2020
Yuning Fu Bowling Green State University yfu@bgsu.edu Dec 2021
Diana Roman Carnegie Institution of Washington droman@carnegiescience.edu Dec 2022
**Non-Voting Observers

The Polar Science and Technology Committee (PSTC)

The Polar Science and Technology Committee, established jointly by action of the board and the IRIS consortium, advises the boards of UNAVCO and IRIS on the activities of this UNAVCO program. Members serve three year terms and are eligible for reappointment. This committee can be contacted at pnscunavco.org.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Paul Winberry, Chair Central Washington University winberry@geology.cwu.edu Determined by IRIS
Rick Aster New Mexico Tech rick.aster@colostate.edu
Determined by IRIS
Tim Bartholomaus University of Idaho tbartholomaus@idaho.edu Determined by IRIS
Kelly Brunt [U] NASA kelly.m.brunt@nasa.gov Dec 2022
Seth Campbell [U] University of Maine scampb64@maine.edu Dec 2020
Julien Chaput University of Texas, El Paso jchaput@ees.nmt.edu Determined by IRIS
Peter Clarke [U] New Castle University peter.clarke@ncl.ac.uk Dec 2022
Amanda Lough Drexel University amanda.c.lough@drexel.edu Determined by IRIS
Matthew Siegfried [U] Colorado School of Mines siegfried@mines.edu Dec 2020
Terry Wilson, Board Liaison [U] Ohio State wilson.43@osu.edu Dec 2020
[U] = UNAVCO appointed committee member

WInSAR Executive Committee

The WInSAR Executive Committee, established by action of the board, advises the board on the activities of the WInSAR consortium which is hosted by UNAVCO. Members serve two year terms and are eligible for reappointment.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Kristy Tiampo,
Chair
University of Colorado, CIRES kristy.tiampo@colorado.edu Dec 2020
Bill Barnhart United States Geological Society wbarnhart@usgs.gov Dec 2020
David Bekaert Jet Propulsion Laboratory david.bekaert@jpl.nasa.gov Dec 2020
Estelle Chaussard University of Oregon estellec@uoregon.edu Dec 2020
James Foster, Board Liaison Univerity of Stuttgart, Germany james.foster@gis.uni-stuttgart.de Dec 2020
Gareth Funning,
Ex-Chair in transition
University of California, Riverside gareth@ucr.edu Dec 2020
Eric Hetland University of Michigan ehetland@umich.edu Dec 2020

GNSS Data Products Subcommittee

The GNSS Data Products Subcommittee (GDPS) is a subcommittee of the Geodetic Data Services Advisory Committee (GDS AC). The GDPS provides recommendations to UNAVCO management and advisory committees on technical issues related to the development, generation and provision of GNSS data products within the context of ensuring UNAVCO’s effectiveness in meeting commitments to sponsors and community users and in achieving the goals of various projects related to GNSS data management, analysis methods and resulting products and services. The GDPS meets on an ad-hoc basis and reports to the GDS AC.

Name Organization E-Mail Term End
Bill Holt, Chair Stoneybrook University william.holt@stonybrook.edu N/A
Adrian Borsa Scripps Institution of Oceanography aborsa@ucsd.edu N/A
Ronni Grapenthin,
GDS AC Liaison
University of Alaska, Fairbanks rgrapenthin@alaska.edu N/A
Jennifer Haase Scripps Institution of Oceanography jhaase@ucsd.edu N/A
George Hajj, Ex-Officio Jet Propulsion Observatory goerge.a.hajj@jpl.nasa.gov N/A
Bill Hammond University of Nevada, Reno whammond@unr.edu N/A
Tom Herring, Ex-Officio Massachusetts Institute of Technology tah@mit.edu N/A
Hilary Martens University of Montana hilary.martens@mso.umt.edu N/A
Christine Puskas UNAVCO cpuskas@unavco.org N/A
 

Last modified: 2020-09-28  15:12:31  America/Denver